



July 24, 2020

The Honorable John DiSanto Majority Chair State Government Committee Pennsylvania State Senate Senate Box 203015 Harrisburg, PA 17120-3015 The Honorable Anthony H. Williams Minority Chair State Government Committee Pennsylvania State Senate Senate Box 203008 Harrisburg, PA 17120-3008

Dear Senators DiSanto and Williams:

Thank you for chairing a productive meeting of the Senate State Government Committee yesterday to consider necessary changes to election procedures in the Commonwealth.

In the course of the meeting, there were several inaccurate references made to the mobile ballot-drop off plan executed by the City Commissioners, with the assistance of the Committee of Seventy, on the weekend leading up to the June 2 primary election. We felt it necessary to set the record straight.

This convenience offered to voters was initiated by City Commissioner Al Schmidt, with the concurrence of the two other Commissioners, Lisa Deeley and Omar Sabir. Ten mobile drop off sites were identified, and publicized with the help of the Committee of Seventy, aided by the colorful "Voteswagon" which served as a mobile billboard making it easier for voters to find the sites. No ballots were accepted or solicited in any other locations. At the drop off sites, ballots were only handled and accepted by staff of the Commissioners' office. Voters were notified that ballots would only be accepted from the individual present. The only exception to that rule was if a voter produced a signed Designation of Agent form developed and approved by the Department of State that authorized a voter to deposit the ballot of a neighbor, friend, or relative within a single household. All ballots were placed in a locked, secured and approved receptacle.

At a time of great uncertainty and unrest, this plan enabled some 4,000 grateful voters to make sure that their ballot was received by the Board of Elections in time to be counted. We are proud to have played a role in making that happen.

Sincerely,

Al Schmidt
City Commissioner (R)
City of Philadelphia

David Thornburgh
President and CEO
Committee of Seventy





cc: Senator Kristin Phillips-Hill, Vice Chair Senator Joseph Scarnati, III, Ex-Officio Senator David Arnold, Jr. Senator Maria Collett Senator Doug Mastriano Senator Katie Muth Senator Patrick Stefano Senator Judy Ward

Senator Lindsey Williams